With the changes we have all made to our working practices due to the Coronavirus pandemic, many people are using Zoom to hold online meetings. Unfortunately there have been reports of people getting hold of Zoom meeting information and joining to share malicious information causing offence and distress.

Time to Shine has put together the below guidance on how to use your Zoom account settings to control who participates in your meetings and what they are able to share. You can download these tips as a separate document to be shared within your organisations here.

Tips to protect Zoom meetings from malicious participation:

  • Choose to “schedule” meetings that are open to the public. This gives you the option to use a one-time meeting ID instead of your personal meeting ID, so there is less chance of a meeting being targeted repeatedly.
  • Consider enabling Waiting Room for your meeting. (Zoom has now enabled this by default. It holds participants in a virtual waiting room until you let them in, so keep an eye on ‘Manage Participants’ to let them in).
  • Set a password for the meeting. (Zoom has now enabled this by default.)
  • From the Screen Sharing control, choose ‘host only’ if you want to stop anyone else sharing their screen with the meeting.
  • In settings, you can choose to disable ‘Join before host’ for your meetings. This is useful if you are not using a waiting room.
  • In settings, choose to disable ‘File transfer’ for your meetings.
  • As a host, you can remove participants. To prevent them rejoining, disable ‘Allow removed participants to rejoin’ in settings.
  • If your meeting is not open to the public, don’t share the meeting ID or “join link” in public places (eg twitter, facebook).